McIntyre Farm, Lislea

McIntyre Farm, Lislea
Farm vacant in 1998

About Lawrence McIntyre and Mary Ginty

About Lawrence McIntyre and Mary Ginty

Lawrence McIntyre was baptized (and possibly born) on August 12, 1854 in Lislea, Kilmacteige Parish, County Sligo, Ireland. His parents are listed as Michael McIntyre and Mary McIntyre on his baptismal record. No other information about his parents is known with the exception of a possible nephew or cousin, Patrick McIntyre, who came to the U.S in 1863.

Lawrence's wife, Mary Ginty, was born September 3, 1850 in Carrowbeg, Killasser, County Mayo, Ireland. Her parents are John Ginty and Margaret Convey(Conway). In addition to their daughter Mary, they had three other children: Margaret (Bridget), Catherine and Patrick.

Lawrence and Mary were married in Killasser on March 1, 1877 and resided in Lislea where they raised their family. They had six known children, all born in Ireland. Thomas Joseph (1878-1939); Catherine (1879-c1915); Mary (1881-1927); Bridget (1881-c1945); Lawrence J. (1890-1943); and John (c1892-?). Lawrence and Mary died in Ireland in the early 1930s.

The descendents of Patrick McIntyre (c1831-1901), mentioned above, and his wife Bridget Stevens (c1833-1908) are also represented on this McIntyre-Ginty Blog. Patrick's farm in Lislea, County Sligo, was to the right of the house in the photo at the top of this page. A separate blog has also been created for Patrick and Bridget and may be viewed at www.mcintyrestevens.blogspot.com

Friday, May 7, 2010

Killasser Catholic Parish, Swinford, County Mayo

The Ginty family were members of the Killasser Catholic Parish, Swinford, County Mayo.  Some history of the Parish from its website:

"The rural parish of Killasser is situated north of Swinford in County Mayo. To the north of the parish lie the spectacular Ox Mountains, and to its south flows the River Moy. Killasser takes its name from Cill Lasrach, meaning “the church of Lasair”. St Lasair established a church here in the 8th Century, the ruins of which can be found in Killasser cemetery in the townland of Knockmullin. The richness and variety of archaeological monuments in the parish, with evidence of human activity here going back 5000 years, has made Killasser well known to many outside County Mayo.

"Today, Killasser is served by two fine churches. The parish church, dedicated to All Saints, and situated in the townland of Listernan, was built in 1832. Its anchor-shaped design is unique in Ireland. The church of St Thomas, in the “half parish” of Callow, was built in 1811. It is prominently situated overlooking the picturesque waters of Callow Lough Upper and Lower. The church has beautiful stained glass windows, including a window depicting St Patrick from the studio of Harry Clarke.

"Located near the parish church of All Saints is the Killasser Community Centre, with its many facilities, opened in 1980.  In recent years, the very fine Hennigan’s Heritage Centre has been established in the parish of Killasser. Here can be traced the archaeological and social history of the parish.

"Further information about the parish can be found at www.killasser.com. (This website has photos of the area and is worth a look.)  Also recommended are three publications “Killasser-a history” and “The Archaeological Heritage of Killasser, Co Mayo”, both by Bernard O’Hara, and “Callow School Reunion – A Celebration”, all currently out of print but available at local libraries.

"Ancient Ecclesiastical Sites: The ruined remains of a very ancient church are to be found in Cill Seisneáin in the townland of Graffy.  Other more recent remains are situated on the hill of Srón in nearby  Carrowneden. Mass is celebrated in alternate years at each church  site around mid summers day."

No comments:

Post a Comment